Home » Codes

L'Association Professionnelle des Enquêteurs Privés du Québec (APEPQ)

APEPQ’s PROFESSIONAL INVESTIGATORS’ CODE OF ETHICS

(Professional Association of Quebec Private Investigators)

I. A Professional Investigator shall at all times demonstrate a commitment to

professionalism and diligence in the performance of his or her duties.

II. A Professional Investigator shall not engage in any illegal of unethical conduct, or any activity which would constitute a conflict of interest.

III. A Professional Investigator shall, at all times, exhibit the highest level of integrity in the performance of all professional assignments, and will accept only assignments for which there is reasonable expectation that the assignment will be completed with professional competence.

IV. A Professional Investigator will comply with lawful orders of the courts, and will testify to matters truthfully and without bias or prejudice.

V. A Professional Investigator, in conducting investigations, will obtain evidence or other documentation to establish facts and a reasonable basis for any opinion rendered. No opinion shall be expressed regarding the guilt or innocence of any person or party.

VI. A Professional Investigator shall not reveal any confidential information obtained during a professional engagement without proper authorization.

VII. A Professional Investigator shall not reveal all material matters discovered during the course of an investigation, which, if omitted, could cause a distortion of the facts.

VIII. A Professional Investigator shall continually strive to increase the competence and effectiveness of professional services performed under his or her direction.

======================================================

Professional Association of Quebec Private Investigators

Code of Privacy

2004, January

Ten interrelated principles form the basis of the Canadian Standards Association Model

Code for the Protection of Personal Information. Each principle is a core element in the APEPQ’s Code of Privacy.

1. Accountability

Each organization is responsible for personal information under its control and shall designate an individual or individuals who are accountable for the organization's compliance with the following principles.

Each Member is responsible for all personal information in his/her/its control. The APEPQ will assist Members with training issues and certify Members as compliant with the APEPQ’s Code of Privacy. The APEPQ’s Ethics Committee is accountable for enforcement of the APEPQ’s Code of Privacy. An annual report of the Ethics Committee will be posted on the APEPQ’s website.

2. Identifying Purposes

The purposes for which personal information is collected shall be identified by the organization at or before the time the information is collected.

The purpose for which Members collect personal information is to facilitate the investigation of contraventions of the law and breaches of agreements.

Personal information collected as part of the investigation of a contravention of the law may include information pertaining to individuals involved in criminal activity, individuals suspected of involvement in criminal activity, individuals with knowledge of criminal activity, and individuals who may advance an investigation by providing information relating to the identity of those involved or suspected of criminal activity.

Personal information collected in the investigation of the breach of an agreement may pertain to individuals who are party to an agreement, individuals who have knowledge of the terms and conditions of an agreement, individuals who have knowledge of the breach of an agreement, or individuals who may advance an investigation by providing information relating to a breach of an agreement.

3. Consent

The knowledge and consent of the individual are required for the collection, use, or disclosure of personal information, except where inappropriate.

In most instances, obtaining the knowledge and consent of individuals would defeat the purpose of an investigation. Personal information will only be collected, used and disclosed by Members without consent in accordance with section 7 of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act, S.C. 2000, c.5 (PIPEDA).

4. Limiting Collection

The collection of personal information shall be limited to that which is necessary for the purposes identified by the organization. Information shall be collected by fair and lawful means.

Members will collect information about individuals only if there are reasonable grounds to believe that the information relates to dishonest conduct, breaches of agreements or contraventions of the laws of Canada, a province, or a foreign jurisdiction. Members of the APEPQ will only collect the personal information that is required for the preventative and investigative purposes set out above.

5. Limiting Use, Disclosure, and Retention

Personal information shall not be used or disclosed for purposes other than those for which it was collected, except with the consent of the individual or as required by law. Personal information shall be retained only as long as necessary for the fulfillment of those purposes.

Members may only use or disclose personal information for the purposes for which it was collected. Members may only keep personal information for as long as may be necessary to satisfy such purpose. Members may disclose personal information only to law enforcement agencies, other investigative bodies or their clients for the purpose for which the personal information was collected.

Members will destroy personal information in its possession once it is no longer required for the purpose for which it was collected.

6. Accuracy

Personal information shall be as accurate, complete, and up-to-date as is necessary for the purposes for which it is to be used.

Members will ensure to the best of their ability that the personal information they collect, use, and disclose is accurate, complete, current, and relevant to the stated purpose.

7. Safeguards

Security safeguards appropriate to the sensitivity of the information shall protect personal information.

Members will ensure that personal information is stored in secure electronic and hard copy files. Hard copy files will be stored in locked file cabinets with restricted access. Electronic files will be stored in secure systems that include power-on password protection and a secure firewall. Electronic files will be encrypted with an industry standard encryption program before being transferred electronically. Distribution of personal information will be on a need-to-know basis.

8. Openness

An organization shall make readily available to individuals specific information about its policies and practices relating to the management of personal information.

Members will make available to the public easily understandable information about the Member Company, its privacy policies, this Code of Privacy, both in hard copy and on its web site www.apepq.org

9. Individual Access

Upon request, an individual shall be informed of the existence, use, and disclosure of his or her personal information and shall be given access to that information. An individual shall be able to challenge the accuracy and completeness of the information and have it amended as appropriate.

In accordance with paragraph 9(3)(c.1) of PIPEDA, if such disclosure does not defeat the purposes for which the information was collected, each Member will, upon request by an individual, advise the individual whether the Member has personal information concerning him or her, what that information is, what it is being used for and to whom their information has been disclosed.

If the individual can provide proof of an error in the personal information held by the Member, the Member will amend the information and send the corrected information to others who have used the incorrect information. If the individual challenges certain information but cannot disprove its accuracy, the Member will note the challenge so that those using the information will be aware of the unresolved challenge.

If a Member denies an individual’s request for access, it will state the reasons for the denial and advise the individual of his/her right to appeal to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada or Quebec as the case may be.

10. Challenging Compliance

An individual shall be able to address a challenge concerning compliance with the above principles to the designated individual or individuals accountable for the organization's privacy compliance.

Members shall post on their website and file with the APEPQ its privacy policy and the name of the Member’s privacy officer.

Individuals may send complaints with respect to a Member’s compliance with its own privacy policies and procedures to the APEPQ’s Ethics Committee. The APEPQ Ethics Committee will investigate the complaint and respond to the individual. If the APEPQ Ethics Committee finds that the Member is in violation of the APEPQ Code of Privacy, the Member will have thirty days in which to change its policies or procedures. If the individual is still not satisfied, he/she will be advised by the APEPQ Ethics Committee of his or her right to appeal to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada or Quebec as the case may be.

End of Document

Questions ?

Contact us by E-Mail.

apepq@videotron.ca

Share This

Accueil » Codes

L'Association Professionnelle des Enquêteurs Privés du Québec (APEPQ)

Code d’éthique de l’APEPQ

I. Un enquêteur doit toujours faire preuve de son engagement à effectuer ses tâches de façon professionnelle et avec application.

II. Un enquêteur ne doit pas se livrer à des activités illégales ou illicites ni à aucune activité qui pourrait mener à un conflit d'intérêts.

III. Un enquêteur doit toujours faire preuve du plus haut degré d'intégrité lors de l'exercice de toutes ses affectations. Il acceptera uniquement les affectations qu'il juge être en mesure de terminer de manière professionnelle.

IV. Un enquêteur se soumettra aux ordres légaux des tribunaux et témoignera de manière honnête sans partialité ni préjugé ou parti pris.

V. Un enquêteur, lorsqu'il procède à une enquête, obtiendra des preuves ou d'autres documents pour établir les faits et un raisonnement fondé pour toutes les opinions prononcées. Il ne faut exprimer aucune opinion à l'égard de la culpabilité ou de l'innocence d'une personne ou d'une partie.

VI. Un enquêteur ne doit pas divulguer les renseignements personnels qu'il a obtenus durant une affectation sans l'autorisation requise.

VII. Un enquêteur ne doit divulguer aucun renseignements importants accumulés au cours d'une enquête, qui s'ils étaient omis, pourraient être à l'origine d'une déformation des faits.

VIII. Un enquêteur doit accroître continuellement la compétence et l'efficacité des services professionnels fournis sous son autorité.

======================================================

ASSOCIATION PROFESSIONNELLE DES ENQUÊTEURS PRIVÉS DU QUÉBEC (APEPQ) INC.

CODE DE PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS

Janvier 2004

LE CODE DE PROTECTION DES RENSEIGNEMENTS PERSONNELS DE L’APEPQ

Dix principes interdépendants constituent la base du Code type sur la protection des renseignements personnels de l’Association canadienne de normalisation. Chaque principe représente un élément essentiel du Code de protection des renseignements personnels de l’APEPQ.

1. Responsabilité

Chaque organisme est responsable des renseignements personnels dont il a la gestion et doit désigner une ou des personnes qui devront s’assurer du respect des principes énoncés ci-dessous.

Chaque membre est responsable des renseignements personnels dont il a la gestion. L’APEPQ formera les membres et certifiera qu’ils respectent le Code de protection des renseignements personnels de l’APEPQ. Le comité de déontologie de l’APEPQ est responsable de l’application du Code de protection des renseignements personnels de l’APEPQ. Un rapport annuel du comité de déontologie sera affiché sur le site Web de l’APEPQ.

2. Détermination des fins de la collecte des renseignements

Les fins pour lesquelles des renseignements personnels sont recueillis doivent être déterminés par l’organisme avant ou au moment de la collecte.

Les membres recueillent des renseignements personnels dans le but de faciliter les enquêtes concernant des infractions aux lois et de violations d’accords.

Les renseignements personnels recueillis dans le cadre d’une enquête sur une infraction à une loi peuvent comprendre des renseignements relatifs à des personnes impliquées dans des activités criminelles, des personnes soupçonnées de participer à des activités criminelles, des personnes ayant des connaissances concernant des activités criminelles et des personnes qui pourraient faire progresser une enquête en fournissant des renseignements relatifs à l’identité des personnes impliquées ou soupçonnées d’activités criminelles.

Les renseignements personnels recueillis dans le cadre d’une enquête sur la violation d’un accord peuvent être reliés à des personnes qui sont parties à un accord, à des personnes connaissant les modalités et les conditions d’un accord, à des personnes au courant de la violation d’un accord ou à des personnes qui pourraient faire progresser une enquête en offrant des renseignements relatifs à la violation d’un accord.

3. Consentement

Toute personne doit être informée et consentir à toute collecte, utilisation ou communication de renseignements personnels qui la concernent, à moins qu’il ne soit pas approprié de le faire.

Dans la plupart des cas, obtenir le consentement d’une personne peut aller à l’encontre du but visé par une enquête. Les renseignements personnels seront uniquement recueillis, utilisés et communiqués par les membres sans le consentement de la personne concernée conformément à l’article 7 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques, S.C. 2000, c.5. (LPRPDE).

4. Limitation de la collecte

L’organisme ne peut recueillir que les renseignements nécessaires aux fins déterminées et doit procéder de façon honnête et licite.

Les membres recueilleront des renseignements personnels uniquement s’ils ont des motifs valables de croire que les renseignements se rattachent à des comportements malhonnêtes, à des violations d’accords ou à des infractions aux lois du Canada, d’une province ou d’une compétence étrangère. Les membres de l’APEPQ ne recueilleront que les renseignements personnels nécessaires aux fins de prévention et d’enquête énoncées ci-dessus.

5. Limitation de l’utilisation, de la communication et de la conservation

Les renseignements personnels ne doivent pas être utilisés ou communiqués à des fins autres que celles auxquelles ils ont été recueillis à moins que la personne concernée n'y consente ou que la loi ne l'exige. On ne doit conserver les renseignements personnels qu'aussi longtemps que nécessaire pour la réalisation des finalités déterminées.

Les membres peuvent utiliser ou communiquer les renseignements personnels uniquement aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis. Les membres peuvent conserver des renseignements personnels aussi longtemps que nécessaire pour la satisfaction de ces finalités. Les membres peuvent communiquer des renseignements personnels uniquement à des organismes d’application de la loi, à d’autres organismes d’enquête ou à leurs clients aux fins auxquelles les renseignements personnels ont été recueillis.

Les membres détruiront les renseignements personnels qu’ils possèdent lorsque ces renseignements ne seront plus nécessaires aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis.

6. Exactitude

Les renseignements personnels doivent être aussi exacts, complets et à jour que l'exigent les fins pour lesquelles ils sont utilisés.

Les membres s’assureront, au mieux de leur habileté, que les renseignements personnels qu’ils recueillent, utilisent et communiquent sont exacts, complets, à jour et pertinents aux fins convenues.

7. Mesures de sécurité

Les renseignements personnels doivent être protégés au moyen de mesures de sécurité correspondant à leur degré de sensibilité.

Les membres s’assurent que les renseignements personnels sont stockés dans des fichiers électroniques et des fichiers imprimés protégés. Les fichiers imprimés seront entreposés dans des classeurs verrouillés dont l’accès est limité. Les fichiers électroniques seront stockés dans des systèmes protégés comprenant l’utilisation de mots de passe et un coupe-feu sécurisé. Les fichiers électroniques seront chiffrés à l’aide d’un programme de chiffrement des normes industrielles avant d’être transférés électroniquement. La distribution de renseignements personnels sera sélective.

8. Transparence

Un organisme doit mettre à la disposition de toute personne des renseignements précis sur ses politiques et ses pratiques concernant la gestion des renseignements personnels.

Les membres doivent fournir au public des renseignements facilement compréhensibles à propos de l’organisme, de ses politiques concernant la protection des renseignements personnels et du Code de protection des renseignements personnels en copie papier et sur son site Web à l’adresse suivante : www.apepq.org

9. Accès aux renseignements personnels

Un organisme doit informer toute personne qui en fait la demande de l'existence de renseignements personnels qui la concernent, de l'usage qui en est fait et du fait qu'ils ont été communiqués à des tiers, et lui permettre de les consulter. Il sera aussi possible de contester l'exactitude et l'état complet des renseignements et d'y faire apporter les corrections appropriées.

Conformément à l’alinéa 9(3) c.1) de la LPRPDE, si la communication ne va pas à l’encontre du but recherché par la collecte de renseignements, chaque membre doit indiquer à une personne qui le demande s’il détient des renseignements personnels à son sujet, leur nature, leur utilisation et les autres personnes auxquelles le membre a communiqué ces renseignements.

Si une personne peut prouver qu’il y a une erreur dans les renseignements personnels détenus par le membre, celui-ci modifiera les renseignements et enverra la correction aux autres personnes ayant utilisé les renseignements incorrects. Si une personne conteste certains renseignements mais ne peut réfuter leur exactitude, le membre inscrira le différend au dossier afin que les personnes utilisant ces renseignements soient informées du fait que le différend n’est pas réglé.

Si un membre refuse la demande d’accès d’une personne, il énoncera les raisons de ce refus et informera la personne de son droit d’appel au Commissariat de la protection de la vie privée du Canada ou du Québec selon le cas.

10. Possibilité de porter plainte contre le non-respect des principes

Toute personne doit être en mesure de se plaindre du non-respect des principes énoncés ci-dessus en communiquant avec la ou les personnes responsables de les faire respecter au sein de l'organisme concerné.

Les membres doivent afficher sur leur site Web leurs politiques de protection des renseignements personnels et les présenter à l’APEPQ en indiquant le nom de l’agent responsable du respect des principes.

Les personnes peuvent adresser leurs plaintes par écrit à propos du non-respect d’un membre de ses propres politiques de protection des renseignements personnels et de ses procédures au comité de déontologie de l’APEPQ. Le comité de déontologie de l’APEPQ étudiera la plainte et répondra à la personne dans un délai de 30 jours. Si le comité de déontologie de l’APEPQ juge que le membre viole le Code de protection des renseignements personnels de l’APEPQ, le membre aura trente jours pour changer ses politiques et procédures. Si la personne n’est toujours pas satisfaite, elle sera informée par le comité de déontologie de l’APEPQ de son droit d’appel au Commissariat de la protection de la vie privée du Canada ou du Québec selon le cas.

Fin du document

Des Questions ?

Contactez-nous par courriel.

apepq@videotron.ca

Share This